Discipleship Series; 26 April, 2022 

Discipleship Series; 26 April, 2022 

Numbers 11:12, “Did I conceive all these people? Did I beget them, that You should say to me, ‘Carry them in your bosom, as a guardian carries a nursing child,’ to the land which You swore to their fathers?”

In the last edition, we pointed out two (2) errors and assumptions Moses made that were part of what led to his frustration and venting, and ended the edition with a promise to return with more details and examination of these errors;

  • God never intended for Moses to assume the role of a progenitor and father to the Israelites. Hence, the question of “birthing” them should never have arisen!

Exodus 4:22 – 23, Then you shall say to Pharaoh, “Thus says the LORD: ‘Israel is My son, My firstborn. So I say to you, let My son go that he may serve Me. But if you refuse to let him go, indeed I will kill your son, your firstborn.’”

With Scriptures like the one above, how did Moses come to the conclusion that he “begat” the children of Israel as he remonstrated and complained like he did in our main Bible text for today?

Did Moses have the resources and wherewithal to fulfil and adequately discharge the duties and play the roles required to father over two million (2,000,000) people that marched out of Egypt that faithtful night?

Sometime ago in this devotional, we examined the duties, roles and responsibilities of a father in the regular sense. God will not give to Moses or anyone for that matter the responsibility of ‘begetting’ a nation. So, Moses’ accusation and remonstration were unwarranted, because God never shirked His responsibility of fatherhood to the nation of Israel.

PRAYER: Oh God! As You are a Father to Israel, so are You to me, help me always remember that fact, in the name of Jesus Christ.

DECLARATION: I walk in the knowledge and enjoy the fullness of the blessings of being a child of God, in Jesus’ name.

You can subscribe to this devotional via Telegram channel at, https://t.me/discipleship_series, or by following my blog, https://delateur.wordpress.com/category/religion/

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑